Dr. Eric Olson becomes president of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine

Dr. Eric J. Olson has officially taken on the role of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine’s 39th president. This transition occurred during SLEEP 2024, a conference organized by the Associated Professional Sleep Societies in Houston. As president, Olson will work alongside the AASM’s 12,000 members to uphold the organization’s mission of advancing sleep care and improving sleep health for individuals.

Olson, a seasoned member of the AASM, has held various leadership positions within the organization. With a background in sleep medicine and pulmonary disease, he currently serves as the Chair of the Division of Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Olson’s medical journey began at the University of Minnesota Medical School, followed by residencies at the University of California, San Francisco, and fellowships at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

In his statement, Olson emphasized the urgency of innovative and patient-centered sleep care, given the significant number of Americans affected by chronic sleep disorders. He looks forward to collaborating with AASM members to drive evidence-based progress, enhance patient care standards, and raise awareness about the importance of sleep in maintaining overall well-being.

For those interested in scheduling an interview with Dr. Olson or learning more about the AASM, inquiries can be directed to media@aasm.org.

Established in 1975, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine is dedicated to advancing sleep care and promoting sleep health to enhance individuals’ lives. With a membership encompassing 12,000 accredited sleep centers and healthcare professionals, the AASM plays a pivotal role in setting standards and fostering excellence in sleep medicine through healthcare, education, and research.

Similar Posts